Who was Indian Finance Minister in 1992?

Who was Finance Minister April 1992?


Arun Jaitley (May 2014 – Present) P. Chidambaram (1996-1997, May 2004-Nov 2009, July 2012-Apr 2014)
Yashwant Sinha (1998-2003, 1991-1992 (I)) Madhu Dandavate (1990-1991)
V. P. Singh (1985-1987) Ramaswamy Venkataraman (1980-1982)
Yashwantrao Chavan (1971-1975) Indira Gandhi (1970-1971)

What was the government of India in 1992?

Rao ministry

P. V. Narasimha Rao ministry
Head of state R. Venkataraman (until 25 July 1987 – 25 July 1992) Shankar Dayal Sharma (from 25 July 1992)
Head of government P. V. Narasimha Rao
Member party Indian National Congress (Congress alliance)
Status in legislature Minority 256 / 543 (47%)

Was the Indian Finance Minister in 1991 acknowledge?

Yashwant SinhaYashwant Sinha: 1991-1992.

Who is India’s first Finance Minister?

Post Independence, the first budget of Union of India was presented on 26th November, 1947 by India’s first Finance Minister Sri R.K. Shanmugham Chetty.

Who is longest PM in India?


THIS IS EXCITING:  Your question: When did socialist revolution take place in India?
No. Name Length of term
Longest continuous term
1 Jawaharlal Nehru 16 years, 286 days
2 Indira Gandhi 11 years, 59 days
3 Manmohan Singh 10 years, 4 days

Who was GOVT India in 1990?

National Front (1989–1991)

National Front (NF) was a coalition of political parties, led by the Janata Dal, which formed India’s government between 1989 and 1990 under the leadership of N. T. Rama Rao, popularly known as NTR, as President of national front and V. P. Singh as Convener.

Who won 1991 election in India?

1991 Indian general election

Leader P. V. Narasimha Rao L.K. Advani
Leader’s seat Nandyal New Delhi (vacated) Gandhinagar
Seats won 244 120
Seat change 47 35

What was happening in India in 1990s?

The 1990s was a historic decade in India. Economic growth rates increased as policies were liberalised though not as quickly as in China. Urbanisation was also very slow compared to that in China. Rate of growth of population and fertility rates decreased.

Which government was in power in 1992 in UP?

Kalyan Singh (5 January 1932 – 21 August 2021) was an Indian politician and a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Kalyan Singh
16th Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh
In office 24 June 1991 – 6 December 1992
Preceded by Mulayam Singh Yadav
Succeeded by President’s rule

Why is 1991 important?

The year 1991 will always be remembered for the economic reforms that proved to be a watershed moment in the Indian economy. It put India on the global map and made it a flourishing market that it remains till today. The deft and futuristic person behind this initiative was the then Prime Minister, P.

THIS IS EXCITING:  Question: Is Tiger Population Increasing in India?

What was 1991 reforms?

The reforms began with the devaluation of the rupee on July 1, 1991, followed by a second round of transfer of a total of 46.91 tonnes of gold from the reserve assets of the RBI in Mumbai to the Bank of England, which enabled India to borrow $400 million to solve its liquidity problems.

Who was the PM of India in 1991 92?

listen); 28 June 1921 – 23 December 2004) was an Indian lawyer and politician who served as the 9th Prime Minister of India from 1991 to 1996.

P. V. Narasimha Rao
Rao in September 1983
9th Prime Minister of India
In office 21 June 1991 – 16 May 1996
President R. Venkataraman Shankar Dayal Sharma

Who is the first woman minister in India?

After India’s independence, Amrit Kaur became part of Jawaharlal Nehru’s first Cabinet; she was the first woman to hold Cabinet rank, serving for ten years. She was assigned the Ministry of Health.

Who was the first president of India?

The Constitution was framed by the Constituent Assembly of India, established by the members of the provincial assemblies elected by the people of India. Dr Sachidanand Sinha was the first president of the Constituent Assembly. Later, Dr Rajendra Prasad was elected its president.

Who was the second finance minister of India?

List of all the Finance Ministers of India:

S.N. Name Term of office
1. Liaquat Ali Khan 14 August 1947
2. R. K. Shanmukham Chetty 17 August 1948
3. John Mathai 26 January 1950
6 May 1950
THIS IS EXCITING:  Frequent question: Is Syria larger than India?