Which is the first corporation city in India?

The 1st Municipal Corporation in India was set up at Madras in.

Which is the first corporation in India?

The Correct answer is Madras. In 1687, the first municipal corporation in India was set up at Madras. The Chennai Municipal Corporation (officially the Corporation of Chennai), formerly known as the Corporation of Madras, is the civic body that governs the city of Chennai (formerly Madras), India.

Which is world first Municipal Corporation?

The Corporation of Chennai is the oldest Municipal Corporation in the world outside the United Kingdom.

How many corporations are there in India?

List of cities in the municipal corporations of by area (total 247).

Which is the largest municipal corporation in India?

List of all Municipal Corporation of India Population wise

Rank Name *Area (Km2)
1 MCGM or BMC 603
2 Greater Chennai Corporation 426
3 Greater Hyderabad Municipal 650
4 BBMP Property Tax 709

Which is the oldest capital of India?


  • Delhi was inaugurated as the capital of India 86 years ago.
  • The British government believed that ruling India from Delhi was easier and more convenient than from Calcutta.
  • Four million British pounds was the cost of shifting the entire administration from Calcutta to Delhi.
THIS IS EXCITING:  How much big is Delhi airport?

Which is the second oldest municipal corporation in India?

The Greater Chennai Corporation, formerly known as the Corporation of Madras (1668-1996) and Corporation of Chennai (1996-2016), is the civic body that governs the city of Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India.

When was first municipality in India?

The first such Municipal Corporation was set-up in the former Presidency Town of Madras in 1688; and was followed by similar corporations in the then Bombay and Calcutta in 1726. The Constitution of India has made detailed provisions for ensuring protection of democracy in Parliament and in the state legislatures.

Where is the oldest municipality in India?

Greater Chennai Corporation of the city of Chennai in Tamil Nadu is the oldest municipal corporation in India and second oldest municipal corporation in the world only behind City of London Corporation in United Kingdom.

Who introduced municipality in India?

History. Municipal governance in India in its current form has existed since the year 1664. In 1664, Fort Kochi Municipality was established by Dutch, making it the first municipality in Indian subcontinent, which got dissolved when Dutch authority got weaker in the 18th century.

Which is the richest company of India?

India’s largest corporations

  • Reliance Industries. 615,854.00.
  • JM Financial. 3,453.55.
  • GE T&D India. 3,227.86.
  • Godawari Power & Ispat. 3,251.08.
  • Electrotherm (India) 3,252.26.
  • Phillips Carbon Black. 3,268.76.
  • IFB Industries. 3,280.30.
  • GHCL. 3,303.13.

How many districts are in India?

As of 2021 there are a total of 748 districts, up from the 640 in the 2011 Census of India and the 593 recorded in the 2001 Census of India.

THIS IS EXCITING:  What does The Absolutely True Diary of a Part Time Indian Teach?

How many cities are in India?

There are 4,000 cities and towns in India. About 300 cities have population over 1,00,000. Seven cities have population more than 3 million. Greater Mumbai still is the most populated city in its 440 sq.

Which is bigger municipality or city?

As nouns the difference between city and municipality

is that city is a large settlement, bigger than a town while municipality is a district with a government that typically encloses no other governed districts; a borough, city, or incorporated town or village.

Which municipal corporation in Asia is richest?

The Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC; Marathi: बृहन्मुंबई महानगरपालिका, IAST: bṛhanmuṃbaī mahānagarapālikā), is the governing civic body of Mumbai, the capital city of Maharashtra. It is India’s richest municipal corporation.

Which is the first municipal corporation in Maharashtra?

Municipal Corporations

Rank Name Established
1 Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation 1888
2 Pune Municipal Corporation 1950
3 Nagpur Municipal Corporation 1951
4 Thane Municipal Corporation 1982